Experience the elegance and charm of a bygone era whilst travelling through India in style on board the luxurious Maharajas’ Express. Enjoy traditional hospitality, opulent comfort and fine dining as you journey from Mumbai to Delhi, discovering captivating cities and UNESCO sites.


Suggested route & duration

10 nights from Mumbai to Delhi
• Mumbai: 2 nights

Onboard the Maharaja's Express: 6 nights
• Ajanta
• Udaipur
• Jodhpur
• Bikaner
• Jaipur
• Ranthambore
• Fatehpur Sikri
• Agra

• Delhi: 2 nights

Recommended highlights

Days 1-2: Mumbai Spend two nights in Mumbai and enjoy some free time to explore this bustling city, its markets and wander along the waterfront Marine Drive.

Day 3: Mumbai Register for your journey at the luxurious Jaj Mahal Palace Hotel before heading to the Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus Railway Station to board the classic Maharajas' Express. Enjoy a traditional welcome before the train departs and travels towards the city of Aurangabad, home to the UNESCO-listed Ajanta Caves.

Day 4: Udaipur Admire the stunning landscapes as you arrive in Udaipur which lies on the banks of Lake Pichola and is known as the 'Venice of the east'. Partake in a boat trip on the lake, join a city tour, during which you will visit the City Palace and its remarkable Crystal Gallery, and then have lunch at an exclusive venue. Dinner will be served on board as you travel onwards to Jodphur.

Day 5: Jodhpur Following a delightful journey through the Rajasthan countryside, arrive in the 'sun city' of Jodhpur. After lunch onboard the train, take a walking tour of the magnificent Mehrangarh Fort and the Old Clock Tower Market. Enjoy dinner at a local excluisve spot before reboarding the train and travelling towards Bikaner.

Day 6: Bikaner Enjoy breakfast and lunch as the train rolls onwards. On arrival in Bikaner, visit the 16th-Century Junagarh Fort. Later, enjoy a sundowner and barbecue dinner as well as a cultural performance at some nearby sand dunes.

Day 7: Jaipur After breakfast on board embark on a city tour of the 'Pink City' of Jaipur where you'll visit the iconic Amber Fort. There is some free time this afternoon allowing you to visit the City Palace and the Observatory which is known locally as Jantar Mantar. Dinner will be served locally before you rejoin the train and travel on to Sawai Madhopur.

Day 8: Ranthambore & Fatehpur Sikri Upon arrival in Sawai Madhopur, transfer to Ranthambore National Park where you will embark on an early morning jeep safari in search of local wildlife. The park is home to endangered Bengal tigers and if you are lucky you may spot one of these elusive creatures. Return to the train for a hearty breakfast. Later, visit the deserted city of Fatehpur Sikri, a UNESCO World Heritage Site that was the Mughal capital for just 14 years.

Day 9: Agra to Delhi Early this morning leave the train to visit the iconic Taj Mahal, arriving as the sun rises. Enjoy a Champagne breakfast before reboarding the train. Lunch will be served as the train makes its way to Delhi where you will leave the train. Spend the next two nights exploring the Indian capital.

Tailor your tour

There is a selection of alternative itineraries on board the Maharajas’ Express including the 7-night Indian Panorama and the 3-night Gems of India rail journeys. Call or see online for details.

This rail journey can easily be added to an tailor-made India itinerary.

Good to know

• The dress code for dining on board the train is smart casual
• Local conditions may necessitate slight variations to the itinerary without notice.