Step aboard the Maharajas’ Express for a luxurious rail odyssey. Enjoy traditional hospitality, opulent comfort and fine dining as you journey from bustling Delhi to sacred Varanasi via Agra's Taj Mahal and the temples of Khajuraho.

6nights Rail Journey

Suggested route & duration

6 nights round trip from Delhi
• Delhi
• Jaipur
• Ranthanbore
• Fatehpur Sikri
• Agra
• Orchha
• Khajuraho
• Varanasi
• Delhi

Departure Dates
2022: Jan 23, Feb 20, Mar 20, Apr 10, Oct 23, Nov 20, Dec 18
2023: Jan 15, Feb 12, Mar 12, Apr 2

Recommended highlights

Day 1: DELHI Board the opulent Maharajas’ Express in the morning and settle in to your cabin as the train departs for Jaipur. Upon arrival you will disembark and travel to an exclusice city venue for dinner.

Day 2: JAIPUR This morning get a true feel for the 'Pink City' on a guided tour of the impressive UNESCO World Heritage Amber Fort. Return to the train for lunch and spend the afternoon at leisure as the train will depart for Ranthambore in the evening.

Day 3: RANTHAMBORE & FATEHPUR SIKRI Arrive into Sawai Madhopur, the gateway to Ranthambore National Park, one of India’s most famous national parks and a prime location to spot the magnificent Bengal tiger. Set off on an early morning jeep safari in search of local wildlife before returning to the train for a hearty breakfast. Later, the train will continue to Fatehpur Sikir where you will disembark for a tour of theis deserted city, a UNESCO World Heritage site which was the Mughal capital for just 14 years.

Day 4: AGRA Arrive in Agra and enjoy an early morning visit to the Taj Mahal as the sun rises. Enjoy a champagne breakfast at an exclusive venue before returning to the train for lunch and some down time. Head back out to Agra in the afternoon for a guided tour of Agra Fort, a 16th Centure fort made from red sandstone.

Day 5: ORCHHA & KHAJURAHO Journey south to Orchha, a charming medieval town set on the banks of the Betwa River. Visit the ornate Orchha Fort complex before continuing to the UNESCO World Heritage-listed city of Khajuraho which is renowned for its group of exquisitely carved temples. Visit the temples and then return to the train for dinner while journeying towards spiritual Varanasi.

Day 6: VARANASI Your morning will be spent on board the train and after lunch you'll embark on a tour of the city which includes visits to the ancient ruins of Sarnath and the Varanasi Silk Weaving Centre, as well as a scenic cruise on the Ganges. Witness the magical evening Aarti ceremony – a religious ritual of worship – on the ghats of the Ganges before heading to an exclusive venue for dinner.

Day 7: DELHI Enjoy your final breakfast and lunch on board as the train makes its way to Delhi, the last stop on your itinerary. Disembark in the afternoon and bid farewell to the train.

Tailor your tour

This is a fixed itinerary rail journey on the luxurious Maharajas' Express. All of your on board meals are included and served in two fine-dining restaurant cars, as well as soft drinks, tea, coffee, mineral water and house wines, beers and spirits which are served in the bar and lounge. The service of an English-speaking local guide for the off train excursions and game drives, and butler service for all cabins are also included. Each of the elegant cabins - from Deluxe Cabins to the Presidential Suite - feature large panoramic windows, a flat-screen television and en suite bathroom.

There are a selection of alternative itineraries on board the Maharajas’ Express including the Treasures of India and Heritage of India.

We would recommend as a minimum adding a night in a hotel either side of the train journey. Please speak to one of our Personal Travel Experts who will help to create your perfect holiday whether that is just adding pre and post night stays in Delhi, flying you down to Goa for a few days of beachside relaxation, or designing an independent itinerary to complement this train route.

Good to know

Local conditions may necessitate slight variations to the itinerary without notice.