Step aboard India’s most luxurious train and enjoy a blend of classic quality and the engineered sophistication of the contemporary age. Journey from Delhi to Jaipur, discovering the spellbinding Taj Mahal, magnificent Amber and Agra Forts, and incredible wildlife in Ranthambore National Park.


Suggested route & duration

Maharajas' Express: 3 nights (Agra, Ranthambore, Jaipur)

Recommended highlights

Day 1: Delhi to Agra Upon arrival, transfer to the Holiday Inn where you will have access to a day room so that you can freshen up before boarding the opulent Maharajas’ Express in the afternoon. After a traditional welcome you will be shown to your elegant en suite carriage before dinner is served on board. This evening the train rolls out of the station, travelling smoothly overnight to magnificent Agra. D.

Day 2: Agra to Ranthambore Early this morning leave the train to visit the iconic Taj Mahal, arriving as the sun rises. Enjoy a Champagne breakfast at Taj Khema, a tableland overlooking the magnificent Taj marble screens. Following lunch on board, visit the imposing Agra Fort, a 16th-Century Mughal monument and walled city which contains palaces, public and private halls, gardens, pavilions and mosques. Various optional experiences are available this afternoon including shopping, a spa visit, or excursions to the abandoned city of Fatehpur Sikri or Itmad-ud-daulah, also known as Baby Taj. Re-board the train for dinner and journey to Ranthambore National Park. B, L, D.

Day 3: Ranthambore to Jaipur
The train arrives early into Sawai Madhopur, gateway to Ranthambore National Park, one of India’s most revered national parks and a prime location to spot the magnificent Bengal tiger. Enjoy an early morning game drive in the park, tracking the elusive beasts with an expert guide. After breakfast continue your journey to the ‘Pink City’ of Jaipur and enjoy a hearty lunch onboard. Visit the dramatic Amber Fort and tour the royal apartments before entering the Chamber of Mirrors and the Hall of Victory. Enjoy dinner at a local restaurant before embarking on the final night of your train journey. B, L, D.

Day 4: Jaipur to Delhi This morning the train will arrive back in Delhi and following breakfast you will disembark and transfer to the airport for your onward journey. B.

Tailor your tour

Alternative Maharajas' Express rail journeys

The Maharajas' Express has three further routes, alongside the 3 night 'Gems of India' itinerary detailed, encompassing a collection of India's finest and most intriguing sights, towns and cities.

Maharajas' Express -
Heritage of India
7 nights, visiting:
• Mumbai
• Ajanta
• Udaipur
• Bikaner
• Jaipur
• Ranthambore
• Agra
• Delhi

Maharajas' Express - Indian Panorama
7 nights, visiting:
• Delhi
• Jaipur
• Ranthambore
• Fatehpur Sikri
• Agra
• Gwalior
• Orchha
• Khajuraho
• Lucknow

Good to know

• For guests over the age of 16 (unless on a private journey)
• Tipping is a way of life in India. It is usual to tip your attendant, waiter and tour manager at the end of the journey. Suggested amounts will be provided onboard
• The dress code for dining on board the train is smart casual
• Please note that local conditions may necessitate slight variations to the itinerary without notice.
• In December and January we recommend taking a jumper for the evenings and early morning
• Summers in Rajasthan (March – September) can be very hot.